Posted by: darmonation | September 13, 2008

If Only I Were Zuckerberg

When I was a Junior in college, Facebook came out as the “exclusively collegiate” social networking site. I created a page just for the hell of it because I wanted to see what it was all about but I never got as into it as my other friends, some of whom would sit on it 8 hours/day – in the morning, in class, in the afternoon in between class, during class at night, and before bed. I just didn’t think it was that cool. I actually cancelled my account after graduating because I just didn’t see what the big deal was about. But I came back. And 23-year old boy wonder billionaire Mark Zuckerberg knew I’d be back, just as soon as he “opened up” the network to people other than college folks. 

Tonight I’m browsing my own pictures on Facebook and I realize just how brilliant/amazing it is, and just how Mr. Zuckerberg became a millionaire. While some websites are lucky to get 3, 4, 5, at best 10 page views on which to show ads for which they earn revenue, facebook shows me 2 DIFFERENT ads for EACH picture I look at – on my page, on my friends page, on any page! So if I go through all 414 of my facebook pages, I see 828 advertisements, and facebook gets coin for each of ’em. Brilliant. 

If only I was born in California, or it wasn’t so damn far from Canada….that’s where the action is, and that’s where I wanna be!

Leave a Reply

Categories

